Sketches and Colour Experimentation

Based on my current theme of blues for the ‘Exhibition’ unit I have been drawing thumbnails sketches to jot down potential ideas for lino prints, I intend on creating a series of lino prints for my final piece for this unit so sketches and experimentation are important to ensure the design will work before transferring it to the lino.

The images above are Photoshop edits of a thumbnail sketch I feel will work particularly well as a lino print, I decided to use Photoshop to test potential colour palettes and now feel ready to transfer my design to a small piece of lino for a test print. If this print is successful I intend to recreate it on a larger piece of lino, around A3 size.This particular design is based on ‘Mardi Gras in New Orleans’, an upbeat song by blues musician Professor Longhair.

2 thoughts on “Sketches and Colour Experimentation

Leave a Reply

